Month: April 2009

  • An unexpected find brings up a painful memory

    As I was going through papers and thankfully throwing them out or recycling them, I came across and envelope with deep, dark writing.  Clearly I knew it was mine, but something in the slant of the letters clearly indicated that there their were pain behind those words.

    And there were…

    “Stop thinking of what you think you lost and look forward for what there is to gain.

    Lack of sleep – difficult managing grief but thankfully (I’m) highly functioning and emotive to my children.  Inside I am crushed.  One of the most challenging times in my life.  Desire for major change, but I can’t handle that now.  I need to compartmentalize and take things step by step to create successes in life.  Admittedly I haven’t accomplished that so well.  

    Spent time writing – gave him encouragement on his book.  I’ve had the opportunity to give love with no expectation of return and got nothing in return.  But with Keith I got it in abundance.  His joy, laughter, encouragement, and care was like nothing I ever experienced.  I was going to say this was the 1st day in 2 weeks where I haven’t cried, but that’s untrue.  

    Today was his memorial and burial.  Last night was the viewing.  I did as much as I could to get there but the increased realization that I wouldn’t crushed my soul and spirit.”

    I think about the tears I’ve cried for someone who recently broke my heart and honestly I wasted tears.  These two individuals were so far apart in integrity, honor, godliness, care, sacrifice, attentiveness, nurturing, and love that I truly must have sought to fill a void with anything instead of waiting for a true and honorable man of God.

    This pain in my heart is for someone like Keith.  I wish it never was, but it is as it should be.

  • Taking A Stand

    I’ve talked to many people this past week about taking a stand in their
    lives.  So many complain about how unfair the world is and that they
    are stuck in undesirable positions because of circumstances and other
    people. 

    Boy we sure give the “other” a lot of credit, don’t we?  We’ve given
    them the power to dictate how we live our lives.  How wrong and so
    foolish. 

    When we start to realize that taking a stand in our lives means that we
    are focusing on us and who/what is important, we’ll hopefully be able
    to come from a place of truth and authenticity in able to live your life
    wholly.

    How –> Ask, Listen, and Follow

    We need only ask and we will find
    that our relationships, finances, work, and relationship
    with our self begin to transform. How many times per day
    do you pray and ask for help from Spirit? And, how often do you
    listen to it? And then, what about following what you
    hear? The amount of inner peace and happiness you
    experience in your life is directly proportionate to the
    amount of energy you expend on asking, listening and
    following His voice.

    Be willing, right now, to ask for
    guidance in developing an authentic relationship with
    yourself. Ask for guidance in releasing beliefs,
    thoughts and behaviors that do not honor your true
    essence. Start with, “Who am I, really? For so long
    I’ve based my perception of myself on what others
    think that I’ve forgotten who I am. So, who am I,
    truly?” and, “What steps can I take to live an
    authentic life?” Finally, be willing to hear the
    gentle yet firm voice, and trust what it says.

    Such is the life of the authentic
    soul….

  • “Amen All By Myself”

    I’ve just begun to read the above titled (autographed!) book from the
    pastor of my church.  I’ve heard him make this statement more times
    than I can count.  It’s his gentle but firm way to call attention to
    ourselves and build an awareness of how much he too has been through
    the struggles of life.  His self-effacing style brings humor and
    comfort.  His willingness to disclose his challenges illustrates how
    God can take trials in our lives and turn them into testimonies.


    I
    still have an audio recording of a message that the pastor gave years
    ago on going “through the wilderness”.  That message has impacted me to
    this day.  I appreciate that he uses that theme throughout the book and
    gives insight and reference on how God uses that time where we may feel
    lost to grow, mold, and change us.


    I purchased 3 books for
    myself, a friend, and my father.  I see that many more purchases may be
    made in my future.  I’ll also put a link on my site to assist others to
    buy it.


    This will surely be a repeat read.

  • One Moment…



    Is it possible that in one moment that hurt and heartache can disappear?  Or at the very least significantly diminish? 

    Within
    the past week, (but specifically since Sunday morning) God has brought
    many messages to me and they all have an unmistakable theme – truth and
    revelation.  Knowing the truth of who He is.  Understanding who I am in
    Him.  Reconciling the truth of who others truly are rather than who
    they presented themselves to be.  Recognizing and accepting that we are
    all fallible and that pain, just like joy, is an expected part of life,
    but our God will use these times to develop strength and character (if
    we let Him).  I’m not saying I’m healed, but acknowledging that I need
    healing.

    As
    one of my “resolutions” I was going to participate in bible study and
    specifically a Celebrate Recovery group.  I finally joined yesterday. 

    ………………..
    Celebrate Recovery 12 Steps and their Biblical Comparisons

    ……..


     1….


    We admitted we were powerless over
    our addictions and compulsive behaviors, that our lives had become
    unmanageable.
    I know that nothing good lives
    in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is
    good, but I cannot carry it out.
    Romans
    7:18
    ….


     2….


    We came to believe that a power
    greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.
    For it is God who works in you to will and to act
    according to his good purpose.
    Philippians
    2:13
    ….


     3….


    We made a decision to turn our
    lives and our wills over to the care of God.
    Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s
    mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God -
    this is your spiritual act of worship.
    Romans
    12:1
    ….


     4….


    We made a searching and fearless
    moral inventory of ourselves.

    Let us examine our ways and test them, and let us return to the Lord.
    Lamentations 3:40….


     5….


    We admitted to God, to ourselves,
    and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.
    Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for
    each other so that you may be healed.
    James
    5:16
    ….


     6….


    We were entirely ready to have God
    remove all these defects of character.

    Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.
    James 4:10….


     7….


    We humbly asked Him to remove all
    our shortcomings.
    If we confess our sins, he is
    faithful and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

    1 John 1:9….


     8….


    We made a list of all persons we
    had harmed and became willing to make amends to them all.
    Do to others as you would have them do to you. Luke 6:31….


     9….


    We made direct amends to such
    people whenever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.
    Therefore, if you are offering your gift at the altar
    and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your
    gift there in front of the altar. First go and be reconciled to your brother;
    then come and offer your gift.
    Matthew
    5:23-24
    ….


    10….


    We continue to take personal
    inventory and when we were wrong, promptly admitted it.
    So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful
    that you don’t fall!
    1
    Corinthians 10:12
    ….


    11….


    We sought through prayer and
    meditation to improve our conscious contact with God, praying only for
    knowledge of His will for us, and power to carry that out.
    Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly. Colossians 3:16….


    12….


    Having had a spiritual experience
    as the result of these steps, we try to carry this message to others and to
    practice these principles in all our affairs.
    Brothers,
    if someone is caught in a sin, you who are spiritual should restore
    them gently. But watch yourself, or you also may be
    tempted.
    Galatians 6:1….


  • Gown Shopping

    I’ve been holding it together and keeping a slight smile on my face.  I’ve been supportive when I’ve wanted to balk at the whole process. 

    I’ve seen her in the dresses and somehow could be detached, however today when the bridal consultant put the veil on her head the reality sunk in and crumbled my fractured heart.

    And I cried.

  • Infiniti Weekend Getaways Widget

    I just posted this Infiniti Weekend Getaways widget for 500 credits. You can earn free credits too!

  • Balancing Act

    Recently I have found myself teetering on a worn tightrope trying to balance my emotions and manage my life.  Major changes personally and professionally have threatened to rob me of the peace and joy I’ve resolved to live my life by.

    Many times I’ve felt so hurt and hopeless.  The intellegence and emotional investment to develop something profound relationally and in business has left me exhausted, empty, angry, confused, and alone. 

    I reeled with confusion with how people operate in such painful and pedestrian ways – and with why I again I’ve become wounded by their actions.  I wondered if my prayers were unheard.  Defeat reigned over my spirit.

    However…

    I see a glimmer of hope.  I’ve been encouraged and supported.  My value and worth is immeasurable, and the gifts God has given me have yet to be used to the fullest potential.  I have to recognize that the love I have to offer is not to be wasted on those who don’t desire or dare I say…”deserve” it. 

    Wisdom dictates that in order to see true change; I cannot do the same thing and expect a different result.  If I want things to be different, I need to do things differently.  Fear and insecurity has stopped me at one level or another my whole life.  It’s time for that to change.